Jobs That Require OSHA Certification Training

Enforcement of protective workplace safety and health standards ensures that workers in certain industries can avoid serious and often deadly hazards.

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration was set up by the congress of the United States. The goal is to prevent work-related injuries, illnesses and fatalities.

Approved state programs under the Federal Government jurisdiction covers the public and private sectors in: Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wyoming and Puerto Rico.

The purpose is to help manufacturers of industrial equipment to include OSHA-compliant safety features on new machinery also since ergonomic injuries as in the case of carpal tunnel syndrome account for a third of all serious injuries suffered by American workers so OSHA has issued three ergonomics guidelines under the general duty clause.

As you may be aware employers are required by law to comply with these published rules promulgated under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970.

Types of jobs that require a Hazardous Safety Card
  • Construction Workers
  • Emergency Response Workers
  • Welders
  • Manufacturer Equipment Operators
  • Hazardous Specialists and Technicians
  • Forklift Operators
Health Care Workers are also included in this list because they are often exposed to blood-born pathogens such as Hepatitis B and HIV. Construction workers also have the occupational exposure to asbestos.

Required Training and Certification

OSHA 10 Hour Training for the Construction Industry - will cover safety and health hazards workers may encounter on construction sites. Courses include hazard identification, avoidance control and prevention.
Entry level workers will receive training about, material handling, hand and power tools, scaffolds, stairways and ladders, excavations, electrical, protective equipment, nail gun safety, and canes.

OSHA 30 Hour Authorized Safety Training for Construction - includes everything from the OSHA 10 class but includes welding and cutting, fire prevention, concrete and masonry, confined space entry, oil spill response and record keeping.

OSHA 8 Hour HAZWOPER Training - is usually a refresher for hazardous waste occupations and emergency response workers who learn about detecting hazardous materials, toxicology, respirators, decontamination, safety planning along with hazardous communication.

OSHA 24 Hour HAZWOPER Course -  gives lessons similar to the 8 hour training plus information about respirators, types of hazards, regulations, site emergency preparedness response, and fall protection.
Hazardous specialists and technicians who receive this training will be in compliance with the OSHA requirements for their jobs. The main reason is because certain industries have chemical exposure limits requiring process safety management to reduce large scale industrial accidents.

The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health for prevention of work-related injury and illness. -
NIOSH is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention / U.S. Dept.of Health and Human Services.-